The Indian Evidence Act, 1872 – Bare Act Classes

Categories: Indian Evidence Act
Wishlist Share
Share Course
Page Link
Share On Social Media

About Course

The Indian Evidence Act of 1872

The law of evidence may be defined as a set of principles that govern the proving of facts in a judicial action. This set of regulations governs what is and is not admissible as evidence in court. It becomes a significant task to discover the facts, which are the basic parts of a right or responsibility, and therefore this Law of Evidence gained importance.

The Act has provided definitions to certain words which play an important part in delineating the kind of evidence that may be put forth by either party. The Law of evidence is Procedural Law but it also has some part of Substantial Law.

The Indian Evidence Act is Act number 1 of 1872. The Evidence act came into force on 01st September 1872. It is further divided into 11 chapters with 167 sections.

The Indian Evidence Act of 1872 is important for all Judicial Services Exams, Public Prosecutor Exams (known by different names in different states such as JLO in Rajasthan, APO in UP, DAPP in Delhi, and so on), LLM Entrance Exams, and other exams.

In this course, you will study the Bare Act in depth, as well as Short Tricks and One Liners for Exams. At the end of each session, you will also be given the MCQ Test.

Show More

What Will You Learn?

  • Word to Word Reading of Bare Act.
  • Marking of Important Sections and Lines.
  • Inter-Connection between Acts.
  • One Liners.
  • Short Tricks to Learn.
  • MCQ Test in the End of every Chapter.

Course Content

Chapter 1 – Preliminary
Section 1 to 4

  • Introduction
  • Test 1 – Preliminary
  • Test 2 – Preliminary

Chapter 2 – Of the Relevancy of Facts
Section 5 to 55

Chapter 3 – Facts which need not be proved

Chapter 4 – Of Oral Evidence

Chapter 5 – Of Documentary Evidence

Chapter 6 – Of the Exclusion of Oral by Documentary Evidence

Chapter 7 – Of the Burden of Proof

Chapter 8 – Estoppel

Chapter 9 – Of Witnesses

Chapter 10 – Of the Examination of Witnesses

Chapter 11 – Of Improper Admission and Rejection of Evidence