The Code of Civil Procedure, 1908

Categories: Judiciary
Wishlist Share
Share Course
Page Link
Share On Social Media

About Course

The Code of Civil Procedure, 1908


Laws can be divided into two groups:

(1) Substantive law and

(2) Adjective or procedural law.

The ‘Code of Civil Procedure’ is a procedure law, i.e., an adjective law. The Code neither creates nor takes away any right. It only helps in proving or implementing the ‘Substantive Law’. It mainly lays down the procedure to be adopted in civil courts, and its principles may be applicable in other courts, like writ courts, and Tribunals to the extent the enactments establishing the Tribunals provide for it. It provides for a fair procedure for redressal of disputes.  Some of its provisions are substantive in nature and not procedural at all, like Sections 96, 100, 114 and 115 providing for a right of appeal, review and revision. The other provisions are generally procedural in nature.

The Code is mainly divided into two parts, namely, Sections and Orders. While the main principles are contained in the Sections, the detailed procedures with regard to the matters dealt with by the Sections have been specified in the Orders. Section 122 of the Code empowers the High Court to amend the Rules, i.e., the procedure laid down in the Orders…

Above paragraph is the part of the detailed notes, you will get for the exam.

In this course, you will get the detailed notes of every topic for the Mains and as well as the one liners for the Prelims.

At the end of each topic, you will get the Quiz for the topic. You can take the test as many times as you can and prepare for the Prelims Examination. 

All the Best!

Show More

What Will You Learn?

  • Complete Preparation
  • Topic-wise Notes
  • Topic-wise Tests

Course Content

Section 1 to 8

  • Test – Preliminary

Part I – Suits in General
Section 9 to Section 35B Order 1 to 11 Order 20, 20A, 26 etc.

Part II – Execution
Section 36 to 74 Order 21, 28 etc.

Part III – Incidental Proceedings
Section 75 - 78 Order 26

Part IV – Suits in Particular Cases
Section 79 - 88 Order 27, 35

Part V – Special Proceedings
Section 89 - 93 Order 36

Part VI – Supplemental Proceedings
Section 94 - 95

Part VII – Appeals
Section 96 - 112 Order 41 - 45

Part VIII – Reference, Review and Revision
Section 113, 114, 115 Order 46, 47

Part IX – Section 116 – 120

Part X – Rules
Section 121 - 131

Part XI – Miscellaneous
Section 132 - 158